4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Image

“Days of youth are so frivolously spent

Then we wonder years later where all that time went” (written by me, only a moment ago)

My son turns 11 on Sunday and my thoughts are all over the place. Sometimes I think about when he was little and wondering where all the time went. How did he go from my womb to a baby in my arms at the hospital to a toddler running rampant to a boy on his first day of school to a boy now nearly 11 years old? I have been looking at pictures of him throughout his life. He’s experienced more than many 11 year old children do, though there is still a side of him that is still youthful, vibrant, and ready to tackle the world. I am proud of my son. He is not the easiest to handle much of the time, but he’s got a heart of gold and is beyond intelligent and talented. There are times when I sigh and wonder when he’ll be 18, but much of the time, I feel like he’s growing up too quickly. I suppose most parents go through that throughout their children’s lives.

I have also been thinking about my own childhood. I remember being 11 myself, being in fifth grade, some of the kids I went to school with, being a Girl Scout, and so on. Where does the time go? You can nail those windows shut, but let me tell you, it will just go out the back door, the chimney, or wherever it can. You can’t pause it, go backwards, or even leap ahead. Time goes at the pace it’s going to and we just have to go with it, regardless of what we might want at any given time.

So here I am, 34 and will be 35 next month….with a nearly 11 year old son. Before I know it, he will be 18 and I will think back to the moments when I wanted to rush his childhood, mostly when he was acting up ha ha, and then find myself wishing I could turn the pages of old calendars back….to hold onto even a moment more of his youth. Then before I know it, he’ll be 34, nearly 35….putting me at 54, nearly 55. ;) Will he be married? Will he have children of his own? Who knows? Only God thus far, but I trust that He has a plan for Zach, just like He does for me. The cycle will keep going, whether I like it or not. We’re born one day and have so much time to live, then our lights go out….making room for more to be lit, to have their time.

While my light shines for others to see, I hope to give all the love I have to those around me….most importantly, to my son. Whether he’s 11, 16, 21, 35, 50, and so on….while I am still here, I hope he always knows just how much he means to me. I also hope that I have instilled some good in him that will last him a lifetime. My sincerest hope for him is that he grows up to be a man of courage, love, and honor that is driven, faithful, kind, hardworking, and successful. No matter what paths he chooses, whom he chooses to walk his many paths on his journey of life with…I hope he have a life full of purpose, one he is proud of, and one that others will remember long after his time here is done. I want more for him than I do myself, though by showing him I have it in me to go after my dreams, I hope he finds it within him to do the same.

Each phase in our lives seems endless while we’re going through it, but then looking back, we wonder how we got to where we are. I think it is more wise to wonder about where we’re headed, than where we were. Though I think it is even wiser still to live in the moment we’re in. Focusing too heavily on either side of that can be draining, even if it’s positive memories or hopes. I hope Zach is cherishing his childhood as he has it. Sometimes I know he wishes to be older so he can drive, stay up later, do more things, and so on…as most of us have done ourselves when we were “young”. I just hope he doesn’t dwell so much on it that when he’s older, he doesn’t find himself wishing he hadn’t wasted his childhood.

Ah, but enough of all that. A very happy time is coming and so I am going to take my own advice and focus on that. He’ll only be 11 once and I want to make the most of it, so that when I reflect back to this time….I can smile and know I did all I could to enjoy it and make it wonderful for him and for all of us.

Image

Comments on: "We can’t chase time, nor should we try to. :)" (2)

  1. My two older boys just turned 8 and 9. It is so hard to watch them grow up so fast.

Leave a Reply

Kendrick Creative Curriculum

Striving to give English education wings every day!

antryump

"In search of truth "

I Build Websites For Free

I offer my knowledge, experience and skills as a web consultant, web developer and web designer to you as my gift.

Yoga2All

Yoga2all is an online source about Yoga, Pranayama, Meditation, Spirituality, Mind and Body Connection, Aromatherapy, Ayurveda, Color Therapy, Beauty Tips, Yoga News and Updates, Types of Asanas and more about Healthcare, Skincare, Disease and Remedies, Top Foods, Sex and Health, yoga and pranayama videos and more….

Something Like a Storybook

This is where Morgan Bradham shares stuff.

Faith - Hope - Love - Serve

A place to grow with one another and freely express ourselves | Let your light shine before others - Matthew 5:16

Iran English Radio

IRIB World Service English

Maxima

Electronic thoughts Follow me and enjoy !

JAMESMAYORBLOG.COM

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Celtic Poet

Life uncensored from the eyes of a feminist, poet, educator, and mother.

writing in airplanes

Poetry © by Daniel von der Embse. Most every poem I write starts out in flight. Some of them land safely. Some of them crash.

ChronicleMe

Support. Laugh. Inspire.

Mahogany Fitness

Simple fitness. Extraordinary results.

thenarcissistwrites

"Narcissistic personality disorder (NPD) is a personality disorder in which a person is excessively preoccupied with personal adequacy, power, prestige and vanity, mentally unable to see the destructive damage they are causing to themselves and to others in the process."

S I M I L A R : P E A K S ::

a mechanism for coping with civility

eutouring

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Designed To Experience

Meditations on Living Healthy

Storiform.com

Writing Popular Fiction

UP!::urban po'E.Tree(s)

by po'E.T. and the colors of pi

skumarsblogdotcom

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Caffeine Epiphanies

Caffeine-induced literary musings by Mary C. M. Phillips

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

hastywords

Turning Tears and Laughter into Words

hauté boheme

/криостатированной горячки/

crossjover

The Tattletales of the Twister

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

Th1Bestof

Lets Sharing The Best..

Kendall Kessler Art

Original Art by Award Winning Artist Kendall Kessler

Riley Amos Westbook

A fantasy Author with too much free time on his hands.

texture fabrik

free stock textures, vectors and stuff...

The chosen one.

Art and Photography

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

TidalWave

Photography

Times Lived.... Places Visited !!!

Gurleen Sawhney Photoblog....

Zero Words

Read. Write. Live

Storing Hope

Stories about love to restore hope in people's hearts

compare best deal

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

heart living arts

living in the heart is an art

Great Eastern Life SG

We’re not just a LIFE Insurance company anymore,

All Time Top Films

Yakoub Moghal

Gather Photography

Greater Milwaukee Area Photographer

Eye Will Not Cry

"Eye Fly High"

Adult & Teen Fiction

Read on and I will show you another world within this one....

The White Crayon

frustrated singer by day, confused blogger by night, striving med tech student by day and night

Prasun Dutta

Photography Blog of Prasun Dutta

Sunset Boulevard

Thoughts on Films

betternotbroken

The War on Terror Begins in the Home

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 855 other followers

